

Tambaram, Kancheepuram and four other municipalities to be corporations

Updated: Aug 24, 2021, 06.37 PM IST

CHENNAI: Tambaram, Kancheepuram, Kumbakonam, Karur, Cuddalore and Sivakasi municipalities would be upgraded into corporations by merging their adjoining developed areas, minister for municipal administration K N Nehru on Tuesday informed the Tamil Nadu assembly on Tuesday.

Tambaram municipality would be upgraded into a corporation by annexing Pallavaram, Chembakkam, Pammal, and Anakaputhur municipalities and nearing areas, the minister announced while replying to the debate on demand for grants from the municipal administration department.

The government's decision would take the number of municipal corporations in the state to 21 from 15.

The minister also announced that Trichy, Nagercoil, Thanjavur and Hosur corporations and Chengalpet, Poonamallee and Manarkudi municipalities would be expanded by merging the adjoining developed areas with them.

Pallapatti, Thittakudi, Mangadu, Kundrathur, Nandhivaram, Guduvanchery, Ponneri, Thiruninravur, Sholingar, Idanganasalai, Taramangalam, Thirumuruganpoondi, Gudalur, Karamadai, Karumathurpatti, Madhukarai, Vadalur, Kottakuppam, Thirukovilur, Ulundurpet, Adhirampattinam, Manamadurai, Surandai, Kalakadu, Thiruchendur, Kollankode, Musiri and Lalgudi town panchayats would be upgraded into municipalities, said the minister.

Pugalur municipality would be created by annexing Punjaipugalur and TNPL Pugalur town panchayats, he added.

Disclaimer: The content above is taken from the source mentioned Resource: Times of India, 24 August 2021